musing-mondays-big

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about early reading…

Do you remember how you developed a love for reading? Was it from a particular person, or person(s)? Do you remember any books that you read, or were read to  you, as a young child? (question courtesy of Diane)

I don’t remember when I developed my love for reading.  I’ve loved reading for as long as I remember and spent a lot of my time in the library since elementary school.  I think the Sweet Valley Twins, Box Car Children or Black Stallion were some of the first books I read.  So those were probably some of the books that helped be develop my love of reading.  I remember those book sales when I was in elementary school and always wanted to order a bunch of books and luckily my parents always encouraged my love of reading.  My dad was a pretty big reader but I don’t recall my mom ever reading books although she must have because she still has a shelf full of Danielle Steel books.  It was also great that our elementary school had the “Book It” program in which you earned prizes for every so many books you read through out the year.

Once I got to middle/high school I had a few friends who also loved to read so we would share our Vampire Diaries books or Christopher Pike books.  And how cool was it that our school offered a science fiction reading class to fill our English class requirement?  So I got to read 1984, Farenheit 451 and a bunch of other great books.

As for books I read as a young child besides the ones I mentioned above I remember enjoying:

  • Amelia Bedelia
  • Ramona Quimby
  • The Bernstein Bears
  • Babysitters Club
  • Nancy Drew
  • Christopher Pike
  • R.L. Stine
  • L.J. Smith
  • and a ton more that I can’t think of right now